Do not include publisher location. If a book has a DOI, include the DOI after the publisher name.
If a book does not have a DOI and comes from an academic research database, the book reference ends after the publisher name. Do not include any database information as this type of reference is treated the same as if for a print book.
Books in Print Form with One Author
Author Last Name, Author’s Initials. (Year). Title of book: Subtitle of book. Publisher.
Harris, M. (2009). Pictures at a revolution: Five movies and the birth of the new Hollywood. Penguin.
Book in Print Form with Multiple Authors
Author 1's Last Name, Author’s Initials, Author 2's Last Name, Author’s Initials, & Author 3's Last Name, Author’s Initials. (Year). Title of book: Subtitle of book. Publisher.
Ingham, R., & Covey, L. (1983). The costume designer's handbook: A complete guide for amateur and professional costume designers. Prentice Hall, Inc.
Format of author names in Reference List
Book in Print with No Author
Title of book: Subtitle of book. (Year). Publisher.
The Chicago manual of style. (16th ed.). (2010). University of Chicago Press.
Missing Reference Information
Chapter/Section from an Edited Book
Do not include publisher location.
If an edited book chapter has a DOI, include the chapter DOI in the reference after publisher name.
If an edited book chapter does not have a DOI and comes from an academic research database, then end the reference after the publisher name. Do not include any database information as this type of reference is treated the same as if for a print edited book chapter.
Do not create references for chapters from authored books.
Instead, create a reference for the whole book and then cite the chapter number in the in-text citation (e.g., Bukatman, 2013, Chapter 2).
Chapter Author Last Name, Author’s Initials. (Year). Title of chapter/section. In Editor's Initials. Editor’s Last Name (Ed.), Title of book: Subtitle of book (pp. xx-xx). Publisher. DOI
Bukatman, S. (2013). A song of the urban superhero. In C. Hatfield, J. Heer, & K. Worcester (Eds.), The superhero reader (pp. 170-198). University Press of Mississippi. https://doi.org/10.14325/mississippi/9781617038068.001.0001
Edited Book Chapter
Books in Electronic Form
Kindle/Nook e-Book (or any book in a similar, specific format; e.g., PDF, EPUB, iBook, etc.)
For ebooks, do not include the platform, device (such as Kindle), or format in the reference.
For audio books, include the narrator and the audiobook notation.
Author Last Name, First (and Middle) Initials. (Year). Title of e-book: Subtitle of e-book. Audio Publisher. Non-database URL
Harris, M. (2009). Pictures at a revolution: Five movies and the birth of the new Hollywood. Audio Publishing. http://bit.ly/2G0Bpbl
Harris, M. (2009). Pictures at a revolution: Five movies and the birth of the new Hollywood (R. Jazz, Narr.) [Audiobook]. Audio Publishing. http://bit.ly/2G0Bpbl
e-Book from Online Library (does not require login)
Author Last Name, Author’s Initials. (Year). Title of e-book: Subtitle of e-book. Publisher. Non-commercial database URL
Harris, M. (2009). Pictures at a revolution: Five movies and the birth of the new Hollywood. Penguin. http://bit.ly/2G0Bpbl
e-Book from Online Academic Research Database (requires login)
Author Last Name, Author’s Initials. (Year). Title of e-book: Subtitle of e-book. Publisher.
Harris, M. (2009). Pictures at a revolution: Five movies and the birth of the new Hollywood. Penguin.
Database Information in References
Classroom or Intranet Resources (covered in Section 8.8) of the APA Publication Manual, 7th Edition
Reference examples (covered in Chapter 10) of the APA Publication Manual, 7th Edition
Missing Reference Information