Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing: Tests and Measures

This guide provides pointers for getting started with your research. It includes links to key library subscription resources, including article databases, journals, and books, as well as open web content.

About Tests and Measures

Tests and measures are used in nursing for assessment and research.

Types of Tests Measures Include:

  • Questionnaires
  • Scales
  • Surveys
  • Psychological tests

Published vs. Unpublished Explained:

  • Copies of unpublished test and measures can at times be found within articles, databases, and the open web. In many cases, the author must be contacted directly.
  • Copies of published (commercially available) tests and measures are purchased from publishers, but can be identified within articles, databases, and the open web.

Key Resource - eBook:

Measurement in Nursing and Health Research, Fourth Edition by Carolyn Waltz (Editor); Ora Lea Strickland (Editor); Elizabeth Lenz (Editor). Publication Date: 2016-07-28.

"This highly popular resource written in an easy-to-read style and format-- delivers everything nurses and other health researchers need to know about designing, testing, selecting, and evaluating instruments and methods for measurement in nursing."

Tests and Measures Databases and Sources for Nursing

CINAHL Complete (If you are off campus you will need to enter a username and password. Contact Library staff for current login information.)

An EBSCO suite database, a comprehensive source for nursing and allied health literature.

MEDLINE (If you are off campus you will need to enter a username and password. Contact Library staff for current login information.) provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Additional Databases:

  • ETS Test Collection 
    A database of more than 25,000 published (commercially available) and unpublished tests. Abstract and availability information freely provided. Purchasing options available for some published tests.
  • CMS Measure Inventory Tool (CMIT)
    The repository of record for information about the measures which CMS uses to promote healthcare quality and quality improvement. From The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid.

How to Find Tests and Measures in the CPTC Library

  • Identifying a test and locating a copy, are often two different steps.
  • Use a literature database like CINAHL to identify a test.
  • If a copy of the test isn't available in the literature database, try using ETS Test Collection or Tests in Print identify its source.
  • Reviews of tests might be found in literature databases, but can also be found in Tests in Print and purchased for a fee.
  • Tests and measures are also called instruments.