Nursing: Clinical Resources

Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests

Lab Tests Online is an award-winning health information web resource designed to help patients and caregivers understand the many lab tests that are a vital part of medical care. The site is produced by AACC, a not-for-profit organization; proceeds from health-related advertising help support the website's mission.

Practice Guidelines: Databases & Collections

• ECRI Guidelines Trust 
  An open access database for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, from multiple organizations. Replaces AHRQ’s defunded National Guideline Clearinghouse. Registration required.
• VA/DoD Clinical Practice Guidelines 
  The guidelines on this site are those endorsed by VHA's National Clinical Practice Guidelines Council.

Finding Practice Guidelines within Other Databases

• CINAHL Complete
  An EBSCO suite database, a comprehensive source for nursing and allied health literature. CINAHL Tip: Limit results to the publication type, "Clinical Guidelines”.
• PubMed
  From the National Library of Medicine, comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations include links to open access content from PubMed Central. PubMed Tip: Limit results to the publication type,

• Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by April Vallerand, Cynthia Sanoski, and Judith Hopfer Deglin
  If you are off campus you will need to request a personal account for access.
• Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)
  Identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (the Act) and related patent and exclusivity information.
• DailyMed
  Contains over 80,000 drug listings as submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). At the present time, this Website does not contain a complete listing of labels for approved prescription drugs.
• Drug Information Portal
  Information available for over 60,000 drugs.
• LactMed
  The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant.
• LiverTox
  LIVERTOX® provides up-to-date, accurate, and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, patterns, and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements. LIVERTOX also includes a case registry that will enable scientific analysis and better characterization of the clinical patterns of liver injury.
• MedlinePlus
  Learn about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, and special precautions.
• ToxLine
  Indexes journal articles biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals, from the National Library of Medicine.

• HealthFinder
  Consumer health information.
• MedlinePlus
  Health information for consumers.
• The Merk Manual
  Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written in everyday language.
• Health Reach
  Offers easy access to quality health information in many languages that healthcare providers can share with LEP (Limited English Proficiency) individuals. HealthReach is also an important resource for health professionals and public health administrators seeking best practices and population-specific tools, such as cultural backgrounders and tips for effective use of interpreters.