Clover Park Technical College students have access to a wealth of articles in the subscription databases EBSCO Host and ProQuest.
4 simple strategies for effective database searches:
1. Start with a Basic Search Using AND
Think about the main ideas in your research question. For example, in the question, How does classroom design impact student learning?" The main ideas are: classroom, design, student, learning
These keywords can be used in your search statement:
classroom AND "interior design" AND decoration
When you use AND, you are asking the database to find both terms in articles you retrieve.
After you've identified your main ideas and some keywords to start with, think of additional search terms for each concept. These can be synonyms, related ideas, broader terms, or narrower terms. Since a database will match only what you type, using different terms for similar ideas can help you find more articles.
2. Expand Your Search Using OR
If you do not find enough useful articles, expand your search by using OR to include additional, related keywords:
(design OR decoration) AND interior
Look through the subject terms, title, and abstract of useful articles you find for keywords related to those that you have used - then try connecting them using OR as shown above. This will often locate useful articles missed in your first search.
3. Expand Your Search Using Truncation
Many databases allow you to use "*" (an asterisk) to truncate a term. Truncating allows you to search for all variations of a word using a single search. For example, a search for ...
... will find articles containing " ", and related words with one search. Broadening a search like this can help you find more useful articles.
4. Exclude Words With NOT
NOT lets you exclude words from your search to remove unhelpful articles from your results:
1 circulating copy available for one-week loan.
Also available through Ebook Central
The first edition of this major survey on interior design by John Pile won the 2001 ASID (American Society of Interior Designers) Educational Foundation/Joel Polsky Prize. Now this standard history has been updated to reflect greater coverage of non-Western design, as well as vernacular and residential interiors. A deeper exploration of sustainable design and a CD-ROM with an interactive presentation of periods and styles makes this the most relevant text available. Includes more than 500 photographs and drawings in color and black and white.
Apartment houses Designs and plans
Architecture Domestic Remodeling
Art in interior decoration
AutoCAD
Barrier free design Law and legislation
Building Details Drawings
Building Details Standards
CAD/CAM systems
Color guides
Color in interior decoration
Communication in design
Computer-aided design
Daylighting
Design Handbooks manuals
Design History
Design Human factors
Design Themes motives
Design and technology
Design Industrial
Domestic space
Draperies in interior decoration
Feng shui
Finishes and finishing
Fireproofing agents
Flower arrangement in interior decoration
Hardwoods
Health facilities Decoration
Hotels Decoration
House furnishings
Housing and health
Industrial arts
Industrial design
Interior architecture Conservation and restoration
Interior architecture Design
Interior architecture Environmental aspects
Interior architecture Psychological aspects
Interior decoration Design
Interior decoration Economic aspects
Interior decoration Environmental aspects
Interior decoration Handbooks manuals etc.
Interior decoration Health aspects
Interior decoration History
Interior decoration Human factors
Interior decoration Management
Interior decoration Psychological aspects
Interior decoration Standards
Interior decoration Vocational guidance
Interior decoration firms Management Handbooks manuals etc.
Interior decorators Psychology
Interior decorators Selection and appointment
See also: Women interior decorators
Lofts
Mirrors in architecture
Office buildings Design and construction
Office buildings Environmental aspects
Office decoration
Office layout
Office layout Psychological aspects
Outdoor living spaces
Personal space Psychological aspects
Photography of interiors
Plastics in interior decoration
Repetitive patterns Decorative arts in interior decoration
Restaurants Decoration
Restaurants Design Themes motives
Room layout Dwellings Designs and plans
Small houses Designs and plans
Small rooms Decoration
Space Architecture
Structural drawing
Textile fabrics in interior decoration
Texture in interior decoration
Tools
Universal design
Visual perception
White in interior decoration
Windows in interior decoration
Women interior decorators
Women interior decorators Homes and haunts
Work design
Work environment Psychological aspects
