LibGuides: Environmental Sciences & Technology: Credible Websites

While peer-reviewed articles are generally considered the most authoritative information sources in the sciences, there are many freely available websites that provide access to high-quality research. The following recommended websites include wikis, searchable databases, government agencies, and other resources available on the open web. No login is required for any of the resources listed below.

Government websites (.gov)
Non-profits (.org)

Websites from government agencies may be considered credible for a variety of reasons. Many governmental agencies conducted original research and, as of 2022, all taxpayer-funded research must be made available to the general public by the end of 2025. In the meantime, there is plenty of high-quality, original research available to the public via governmental websites.

Secondly, .gov website domains may only be used by governmental agencies (in other words, you know exactly who published the information, which is not the case for all information found online).

A selection of environmentally-focused government agency websites, at the state and federal level, are listed below.

Species & Habitats | Washington Department of Fish & Wildlife
The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife is dedicated to conserving and protecting the state's wildlife -- including endangered and other at-risk species -- from these threats. Learn about the work we're doing to protect Washington habitats and what to do if you encounter an orphaned or problematic animal.
Library | U.S. Fish & Wildlife Services
The FWS Library provides central access to Service digital resources, including collections curated by USFWS staff, topical categories to browse, and resources to aid information discovery.
PLANTS | United States Department of Agriculture
The Plant List of Attributes, Names, Taxonomy, and Symbols (PLANTS) Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Earth Information Center | US Federal Government
The Earth Information Center consolidates data and insights on how our Earth is changing from multiple governmental agencies. Information and research is organized by nine themes: Agriculture, Air Quality, Biodiversity, Disasters, Sustainable Energy, Greenhouse Gases, Sea Level Rise, Wildfires, Water Resources. Searchable datasets and a data analysis tool are also available.
Smithsonian Environmental Research Center
The Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC) provides science-based knowledge to meet critical environmental challenges. SERC leads objective research on coastal ecosystems—where land meets the sea—to inform real-world decisions for wise policies, best business practices, and a sustainable planet.
Office of Environmental Policy and Sustainability | City of Tacoma
The Office of Environmental Policy and Sustainability (OEPS) works to develop, promote, and implement sustainable practices in Tacoma through education, community partnerships, and performance management.

There is some great information to be found through non-profits, non-governmental agencies, and professional organizations. These institutions tend to use the .org domain name, indicating their non-commercial purpose. Remember, though, that .org websites do not have the same authority as .gov or .edu websites because anyone (including those with commercial or nefarious interests) can purchase a .org website. The sites below, however, may be considered credible sources as they come from reputable organizations.

Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE)
The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work.
Pacific Fishery Management Council
The Pacific Fishery Management Council manages fisheries for approximately 119 species of salmon, groundfish, coastal pelagic species (sardines, anchovies, and mackerel), and highly migratory species (tunas, sharks, and swordfish) on the West Coast of the United States. Includes fact sheets for management for different species of fish.
Biodiversity in Focus: United States Edition | NatureServe
A new analysis addresses five essential questions about biodiversity — the variety of life on Earth — that need to be answered if we are going to effectively conserve nature. Written and published by NatureServe, a conservation non-profit.
Society for Ecological Restoration
Founded in 1988, the Society for Ecological Restoration (SER) has given voice to the field of ecological restoration and provided leadership in all aspects of its development. In addition to communicating leading-edge tools, technologies and scientific findings, SER actively promotes best practices and effective restoration policy around the world.